Forum Member

Default What do you think of this hose / nozzle setup

My fire department is way behind the times in certain areas. One area that I would really like to address in the near future is our main pre-connect attack lines. We are currently using 250ft. 1-1/2" lines with Akron 100psi adjustable gallonage nozzles. The nozzles are set at 95gpm. We also carry 200ft. 2-1/2" lines with similar nozzles set at 250gpm.

The last few residential fires we've ran on, we pulled the 2-1/2 first because 95gpm just won't cut it.

Changing to 1-3/4" hose is out of question, there simply is not enough support amongst our voting members to spend the money. And many of our old timers just simply don't understand hydraulics... this is a common statement I get "why go to 1-3/4" hose, it still has 1-1/2" fittings, you can only get 1-1/2" of water through it". I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, and I understand fluid flow and hydraulics quite well, but there is simply no reasoning with these folks.

So, I'm left with looking at other options. I personally prefer smooth bore nozzles, but this is highly debated in our department as well. Many of these same old timers feel that the fog nozzles offer them added protection, they must like becoming lobsters if they really think this.... but again, they are set in there ways. I think the best solution for us overall would be some low pressure break apart nozzles, but they are pricey and will be a hard sell. For now, I would like to experiment with only one of our preconnected lines. I am thinking of using a smooth bore with a 7/8" tip, we already have the shutoffs. My calculations show that this nozzle will deliver 151gpm at 44psi nozzle pressure with a pump discharge pressure of 186psi. Of course as with all smooth bores it can be pumped up or down a little as well.

What do you guys think? Sound reasonable?

Forum Member

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by blaster668 View Post