Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default EMT-B to Paramedic (no experience)

I tried searching the forums for some opinions but couldn't really find any. There is a paramedic program starting at my local community college this fall (2010). I am planning on taking anatomy and physiology 1 this summer and enrolling in A&P 2 concurrently with the first semester of paramedic school. I have two questions which I know don't have right or wrong answers, but want some opinions from people who have been through medic school.

1. Is being in A&P 2 during the first semester of medic school a good idea or could it be too much of a work load?

2. I am a EMT-B but have not worked in the field. Ideally I would get some experience as a basic before medic school, but if I don't start medic school this fall it wont be offered at my community college for at least 2 years. So my question is is it a good idea to enter paramedic school with no EMT-B experience? Are the clinical and ride time for medic school enough for an inexperienced person to be competent after medic school? There is one other CC that has a medic program that will probably be offered fall 2011, so I was considering just getting my A&P out of the way and trying to find a volunteer service to get experience and start fall 2011. Part of me just wants to get medic school done so I can continue looking for FF and/or EMS jobs, but I don't want to set myself up for failure.

Thanks