Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Talking Fire Departments !!

What is up everyone ? its been forever since anyone has talked on this thread !!! anyone got any good news about hirings or depts that are going to be hiring ? well hopefully i will start it up again i recently took the central falls test and think it was good i know only 78 people took it and they want to hire 2 with a grant hoping for 5 more ! providence is dying and all the depts around the state need to update their lists !!! so this is good news depending on how the governor screws the depts. anyways i have been testing for 3 years now i am firefighter 1+2 hazmat ops,tech, emt-c, fema ics 100,200,700,800, awr-160 and gonna keep on with the training and hopefully the dream will come true ! hope everyone in this state trying gets a chance !!!

MembersZone Subscriber CFD Hazards's Avatar

I have heard my department is putting in for a grant to hire 5 people but don't know much about that. I believe we are now down about 22 guys at this point and have several retiring by summers end. There is no talk of hiring other than the 5 if the grant comes through. Departments are struggling to keep what they have and the picture is bleak. It is great that you have all of the certs but it will mean nothing if you get on one of the larger departments. You will have to do all of it over again in each cities academy. The only thing they really care about is the EMT-C. If the thieves at the state house ever push through some of their pension reform stuff, they will bankrupt every city and town in the state. We have probably 30 guys that will retire if anything gets taken away from them and I can only imagine Warwick has the same and Providence must have many more than that.

Forum Member