Forum Member

Default Quint Purchase and Maintenance Costs

My department is considering buying a 75' quint to add to our firefighting force. The big question is how much does an apparatus such as this cost to maintain? Above and beyond fuel and oil, what are the yearly costs such as aerial ladder inspection(s), hydraulics maintenance and costs of that nature?
    We are considering a single rear axle and I was told that will chew up tires because of the weight. Is that true? Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated. I'm a retired city firefighter and the department I am a member of now is rural and I am getting into areas such as those mentioned above that are new to me....so....help. LOL

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by AFDCaptainRet View Post
    My department is considering buying a 75' quint to add to our firefighting force. The big question is how much does an apparatus such as this cost to maintain? Above and beyond fuel and oil, what are the yearly costs such as aerial ladder inspection(s), hydraulics maintenance and costs of that nature?
    We are considering a single rear axle and I was told that will chew up tires because of the weight. Is that true? Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated. I'm a retired city firefighter and the department I am a member of now is rural and I am getting into areas such as those mentioned above that are new to me....so....help. LOL
    I think it might help to get a better feel for the setting the vehicle will be used in.

I'm not sure on the cost aspects since I'm not involved with that area of ours, however I'd imagine that your looking at atleast a few hundred dollars per year for ladder testing and other aerial PM.