Forum Member

Default Need DoD certifications... please help!

I am trying to learn as much as I can about contract FF before actually inquiring to the companies who do it. From what I have seen, you need a minimum of Firefighter 1 & 2, Haz-Mat Ops, Airport FF, and DriverPumper Ops (or whatever the specific certs are called). Here's the thing - I don't have any clue as to how to go about getting these, or if the experience that I DO have will translate at all into a certification. I am an active FDNY firefighter with 7 years experience, 5 of those years in a CPC - Chemical Protective Clothing company, where we receive regular HazMat training and extensive training in level A HazMat suits - those moon suits you see in the movies. Would any of that be equivalent to at least FF 1 & 2, or would I need to take actual DoD training. If I DO need that training, or just to get the certs, WHERE would I begin my search....

ANY help at all would really be appreciated!

Thx much!

10-75

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by tenseventyfive View Post
    I am trying to learn as much as I can about contract FF before actually inquiring to the companies who do it. From what I have seen, you need a minimum of Firefighter 1 & 2, Haz-Mat Ops, Airport FF, and DriverPumper Ops (or whatever the specific certs are called). Here's the thing - I don't have any clue as to how to go about getting these, or if the experience that I DO have will translate at all into a certification. I am an active FDNY firefighter with 7 years experience, 5 of those years in a CPC - Chemical Protective Clothing company, where we receive regular HazMat training and extensive training in level A HazMat suits - those moon suits you see in the movies. Would any of that be equivalent to at least FF 1 & 2, or would I need to take actual DoD training. If I DO need that training, or just to get the certs, WHERE would I begin my search....

ANY help at all would really be appreciated!

Thx much!

10-75