Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default If you really want to succeed as a Firefighter, here's an idea

Hey Guys,

First of all, I realize that many of you are probably young and still getting through school (whether it's junior high or high school) and I'm impressed that many here are already taking steps to get into the fire service, right out of school.

That's fantastic!! Really, I mean that.

But here's a little pointer that as a firefighter and, specifically as an EMT, I don't believe can be overstated that will greatly increase your marketability as such: Learn to spell and use appropriate punctuation.

I know it's a dying art, but whether you are on this website or e-mailing someone, get in the habit of using whole words and correct punctuation. (texting is exempt, because I shorten words all the time, just because it's easier and faster) But seriously, I can't help but notice how bad the spelling is, specifically in this forum.

As a career firefighter/EMT, incorrect spelling is the number 1 (or at least 2) killer for any job applicant. It's right up there with lying on your application or not reading directions correctly.

If you don't know how to write or type correctly, very few departments will take you seriously as an applicant, and the ones that do let you continue, probably aren't worth working for.

So, I've vented enough. You guys are great. Keep up the hard work and keep your noses in the books. I promise, if you apply what I'm saying, you'll greatly increase your chances of being hired. At the very least, you'll come out of school with the reputation of somebody who's serious about what they're trying to accomplish.

Take care guys!!
    Pete

MembersZone Subscriber