MembersZone Subscriber

Default Which Fire Department Would You Go With If In My Shoes??

I Just finished two separate Fire Department recruitment's in my area. I am very happy to say that I was successful in both recruitment's. I studied and trained my butt off and I did a lot of interview prep., read books, did research online, and talked with many Firefighters. Some of you guys helped answer my questions on this forum as well and for that I thank you. With all the preparation and hard work everything came together and it all work out, I feel very privileged to be in this situation but it is a very tough decision for me to make. I was hoping I could get some of your opinions to help me make my final decision.

I am from Newfoundland and will be offered a temporary Firefighter position after my medical results are in from SJRFD (St. John's Regional Fire Department). I was already offered a full-time permanent Firefighter position with CBSFD (Conception Bay South Fire Department) which I took.

However I have not signed any papers yet and have not started with either department yet but I need to make a final decision very soon on what I am going to do.

Here is the scoop on my job offers:

SJRFD:

- Big Fire Department (Capital City)
    - IAFF Union
    - Covers a population of approx. 150,000 people
    - Offering temporary Firefighter position, you go on a list and wait for full-time position to open up (will be anywhere between # 15-26 on the list depending on what number I pick)
    - You start at 38,000 a year, while on list no benefits or pension, all that won't kick in until you get a full-time position
    - Will be waiting on list likely between 3-5 years before I get on full-time
    - Once on full-time top of pay scale for Firefighter is 72,000 a year
    - Once I reach top pay scale this department makes great money but it will take me years to get to that top pay scale