Thread: PPV close call

Forum Member

Default PPV close call

PPV video. Thought this would be good for discussion.

http://firefightersenemy.com/2010/05...pv-be-careful/

Few thoughts (not MMQing these guys, I don't know what these guys did or did not do)

1) before PPV, you must vent opposite side of building, since this was a basement fire were they able to? I don't know.

2) after initial knockdown, make some inspection holes, this is why every member need to carry a tool.

3) know a primary and secondary means of egress... these guys did a great job of exiting quickly once they found themselves in trouble.

Good job to this crew, they made it out of a hairy situation, and gave us some food for thought.

MembersZone Subscriber
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

I can't speak for basement fires, since we have no basements in our area and I have no experience fighting them. However, we do use PPV a lot and I think that having firefighters in the building while the PPV is operating is not the problem. Improper PPV placement, not knowing where the fire is before placing the PPV, and inadequate vent openings on the opposite end of the building (or simply neglecting to create vent openings) all are part of the problem.

Also not wanting to Monday morning quarterback, but it appears the bulk of the fire was near the front. Assuming the kitchen was at the rear (which seems to be the case here), the PPV should have been at the rear and venting out the front.

Of course, if the fire was primarily in the basement when they arrived, then where do you vent? Maybe in this case PPV is not the correct choice.

Glad nobody got hurt on this one, looks like it turned ugly in a hurry....
    Chief Dwayne LeBlanc
    Paincourtville Volunteer Fire Department
    Paincourtville, LA