Forum Member

Default Ventilation Suggestion

Hello everyone. I want to invite anyone who wants to try this to give me feedback on whether they like it or not. I used to be a career firefighter at Dalton Fire Dept in Dalotn, GA. Several years back we experimented with using a recip saw for vertical ventilation on buildings. This came after breaking chains on several different types of roofs. I will explain to you how to carry out the ventilation and then you try it in a trining environment, if you can get a donor house that would be prferred, then come back and tell how it went. I'm just curious how many have thought of doing this before. Dalton liked it so much that all of the apparatus have 18V recip saws on them for ventilation, as well as the traditional chainsaw.

Tools:

Ground Ladder (Or Aerial Apparatus)
    Roof Ladder
    Recip Saw (We Used Dewalt) w/ Demolition Blade
    Pouch Clipped to Turnout Coat w/ Extra Demo Blades
    Pick Head Axe
    Pike Pole

Procedure:

Find Your Ventilation Spot
    Ladder the roof, place roof ladder
    Check recip saw and all tools, just to be double sure
    Clip saw and blades to coat and carry pick head axt to roof and sound the roof
    Use pick head to make your purchase point
    Use recip saw to cut whatever size hole you want, no need to remove shingles
    Have pike pole passed up from your partner and punch through attic ceiling and you're done

Again, I'm just curious if it will work out for others like it did for us. And yes, i know there will be the die hard "we aint changin" foks on here, but please, I only ask you go into this with an open mind and honestly try it and evaluate it. I do look forward to any response, hopefully civil.

Forum Member

have you ever ran into it bogging down on thick roofs? Such as those with original wood decking, wood shingles, and several layers of asphalt. The chainsaws and K12s sometimes struggle, so I'm a little skeptical on the recip saw.

Forum Member