Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    Forum Member

Default Need help with becoming an A/O

Hi, I am a probationary firefighter with only 2 months left! My problem is that my department does rotating shifts so one tour you are riding backwards and the next you are the engineer or apparatus operator. I have no experience with being an engineer and have really struggled on this. I study constantly and get as much hands on time as i can but with being busy hands on time is few and far between.

My main problem is with catching a hydrant and doing a change over in time. When that is my only task I can do it no problem with a 2.5 inch line flowing, but then they will throw in other tasks to throw me off and I cant do the change over in time before I run out of water. Does anyone have any tips or tricks to help me cut off time during this process. Thank you so much for any help that you can give me.

You need to approach your Company Officer behind closed doors, and advise him that you do not feel confident as a D/O yet. It is his responsibility to ensure that you are trained to your Department's standards (whether that means training you on shift and in-house, or referring you back to the Training Division, or by other means necessary. If you don't feel confident, then there is a problem. I don't want to second guess him, but from the sounds of it, you don't have enough wheel time.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member