Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default How far should a basic be allowed?

I have a question. We run BLS respond from the engines, and ladders when the engine is out. We carry basic kit, O2, AED, and are testing the AutoPulse. Our MD has OK use to use Kings tubes, CBG, IV (locks) and the administration is moving that way.
    I was wondering if any BLS engines are using;
    Autopulse
    IV (bag or lock)
    CBG
    King, CombiTube, EOA, PTL, ET,...
    portable ventilator

I was a P instructor back in the mid 90s and really do not see a problem, but I would like to hear from those that are living it and could give some feedback on the good, bad, and the ugly of these skills in the hands of basics.
    I am not directly involved with the implementing of these skills onto the engines, but I have been ask and have discussed the possibility of these skills being put in service.
    Any real world experiences are welcome.

makes good girls go bad

A vent and IV are most def ALS skills.
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

Let's talk fire trucks!

We're doing Autopulse & King's (replacing CombiTubes) as BLS skills. There are some medical directors in Virginia that are allowing thier BLS providers to do IV's. I agree with BLSBoy that vent is an ALS skill.
    Career Fire Captain
    Volunteer Chief Officer

Never taking for granted that I'm privileged enough to have the greatest job in the world!

MembersZone Subscriber

Could you elaborate on why you feel a ventilator should be a P only skill, and not a King\Combi?
    BLSboy, do you feel the gloucometer should also be ALS?