Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Odds

Forum Member

Default Odds

I just received an email stating that I am eligible to take the written test with a local department, and am pretty excited about that. I do have some concerns, however, because I am not an EMT, I have no FF experience, and my career is totally unrelated to FF. From what I have heard around here, the average time to get on is 3-4 years, and most of those guys have at least their EMT-B. The only thing, in the way of certs, that I have is a Bachelors degree in Public Administration and HAZWOPER training. My question is should I get out of the way because I don't have an EMT-B even though it is not required? I feel like I am taking a slot from someone who has put in work to do their EMT, but I too would like to become a FF. I am in graduate school, but recently was involved in an emergency response experience (witness a motorcycle accident and assisted with victim) which made me realize I want to work in another field. After doing a ride along with the local PD (Vegas) and visiting a fire house, I thought fire would suite me well. Any thoughts, suggestions, recommendations? Don't be afraid to give it to me straight either!! Thanks.

Forum Member

so emt is not required??

do they send you to training for emt or is it just not required period??

I would go for it, you never know, especially if you really want to do the job and feel you can do it.

I take it they put you through firefighting school???

Forum Member

ccfd?

go for it, itll at least give you the experience of the testing process. test everywhere you can.

Forum Member

Default Ccfd