Forum Member

Default New guy here feeling a bit discouraged

I have spent a great deal of time this the past week reading through this forum. The firefighters here appear enthused and helpful with other potential new hires, so I thought I may also get some feedback or constructive criticism. I am a General Contractor and have have been in business for the last 6 years and have managed to keep my company busy during these times. The last 15 years of my life have been in construction and I enjoy doing what I do however something is missing. I like to push myself towards challenging positions and becoming a firefighter will do just that. Ya I know I sound like the guy who wants to be the hero, but I am far from that. Honestly all I want is to make people pleased knowing that there are those who care and have pride in what they do. So here it is, I am 35 years old, A licensed General Contractor, 5'11" 168 lbs physically sound. I'm 3 months distant from an Associates Degree in Fire Science, and 76 college units. When I was 19 years old I unknowingly purchased a stolen engine and received a felony for receiving stolen property, It has been reduced to a misdemeanor and expunged. I am married with two wonderful children. I carry no medical/EMT certs, I have never applied for a firefighter position. Time is definitely not on my side, nor is my previous conviction. I am just searching for a little bit of advice or encouragement from others who may have been in a similar position that could steer me in the right path. Thank you for your time.

Mike

Forum Member

What state are you in??

Have you researched what your state /local departments require, if anything to get hired???

As far as conviction depends on each department
    You would have to ask each place you apply at

Some ask if you have EVER been arrested

But if you have been good since ten some take it into account