Forum Member

Default Federal Firefighter needs help

I am DoD US Army Civilian Assistant Fire Chief, DoD certified up to Fire Officer IIII with all the Hazmat. The base that I have been working at for thirty years does not have a flight mission so I never pursued Airport Firefighter which I am currently enrolled and should have no problem receiving in a short time frame(do I really need it?) I have applied for an Assistant Fire Chief position with WSI in Iraq and have received my first packet which I filled out and sent back. Iím guessing the next step is a phone interview? What do you think my chances are? Is there a lot of retired Fire Chiefís out there looking for the same opportunities? Are all the contract companies wages comparable with each other? Is one company better than the other? Here is my biggest concern, we in the civilian DoD fire departments are having a hard time with retirement packages at the present time. I have submitted my package for retirement but it has been put on hold awaiting classification. I just canít get up and walk off this job when and if WSI offers me a position. With that I also donít want to retire and then wait for a position to open up, the only reason why I would retire at this time is to take the opportunity to make some serious cash at the end of my firefighting career. Trying to tie everything together for a smooth transition. Do you think WSI will work with me on this situation? How long does the process take? Really donít want to deploy until after the first of the year. Any federal guys out there that may have some input, thanks for the help.

Forum Member