Forum Member

I sat back on this one until I saw where it was going.

I see a trend in the new generations where they seem to have this concept that they know more than the older guys. Of course, I have seen this play out over and over with many generations of firefighters.

A few of us old guys are still hacking around the service and I think we are all in agreement that we must keep our minds open to new ideas, technology and tactics. But I also believe that us 'old guard' would agree that democracy on the fire ground is not something we can embrace or warm up to.

As a young firefighter, I was much the rebel, asking "why" on way too much at the wrong time. It is a miracle that I survived all of these years. The rebel instinct is still within me, but I had to learn to choke it off when I felt compelled to question a tactic or order. I spent many years gaining demerits rather than brownie points. Translation: I harnessed the ability to stay on the Chief Officer's radar much of the time. This was unwise of me and it took me some time to understand that.

So much for trying to do it my way out of the chute. As I have become older, I see this same thing over and over, and frankly, it ticks me off. If I had worked for me, I would not have worked very long. It was only because my leaders took the time and patience to let me clean my system out.

While I tend to strive for patience and tolerance, I also understand that when you're dancing with the devil, you must get it right every single time. I am not tolerant on a scene if someone wants to debate my decision in regard to the attack or tactics.