Forum Member

Thumbs down Station alert hardware suggestions

I am an engineer/contractor, hired to rewire the alert systems in about seven city fire stations.

They currently have Zetron 6203 remotes, which are only connected to the county dispatch. City dispatch is handled separately.

Existing wiring is a mess and undocumented. The city wants to rewire all stations and install control units which will do the usual control of dorm lights, audio annunciators, intercom, etc.

Alert ramping is required. A touch screen interface would be nice. Must be programmable by city employees. The Zetron can do some of this for county calls.

I would appreciate suggestions for how to integrate the city and county systems and what brands of controllers to install between the Zetron and the station hardware.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Forum Member

That's awefully broad in scope. What does the city and county use to send the alerts? Two-Tone paging? MOSCAD? DTMF? What do the stations need to have? Lights, bells? sirens? doors open? How many different alerts? Everyone? Engine? Rescue?

You need to be a little more specific about what you're looking for.
    Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

Forum Member

The city uses two tone alerts via trunking radio network.

Each station has a single crew on watch at a time.

The key for me to get started is some recommendations and warnings about existing systems such as Federal, RXC, and others so I can start researching suppliers without making the same mistakes that others have made. After I start narrowing the field, my questions will be more specific and more intelligent.

I really appreciate the response. Thanks.

Forum Member

Two tone paging on a trunked system??

Forum Member