Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Great information. Do you know of any towers in Middlesex County NJ that can be trained on?
    Stay Safe,
    Mike Donahue
    "Training Prepares You...For Moments That Define You

Right off the top of my head, the 150 footer belonging to the fire district in Somerset?

Do you have contacts there? I'm looking to run a class.
    Thanks,
    Mike

Mike,

Let me know when you get that Tower class off the ground. I'm definitely interested in making the trip.
    John D. Calamia, BS, NREMTP, FP-C
    Firefighter/Flight Paramedic
    Broomall, PA

Will do John. It's tough to find towers to climb on around here but I will keep you posted.
    Stay Safe,
    Mike

MembersZone Subscriber

As an Illinois Firefighter, I knew that a majority of our departments were untrained to deal with cell tower emergencies. These structures exist in every community and every response district so we're trying to get the word out. I train in rope access and industrial rescue and had contacts in the cellular industry, which proved to be the key. By going straight to the wireless contractor, fire departments can gain invaluable insider information. There are so many techniques, equipment, and hazards specific to tower rescue that it really is a course in itself.

As far as belaying with the Petzl ID: It's an excellent belay device when used properly. ANY BELAY DEVICE CAN BE DEFEATED! That being said, it requires some technique and of course training. The nice thing about the ID is that by equipping every technician with an ID, each rescuer has the ability to:

1. Descend using the ID
    2. Ascend using the ID
    3. Set up a progress capture change of direction
    4. Build an M.A. System with progress capture
    5. Perform a pick-off
    6. Belay a two-person load