Forum Member

Default Testing again after being laid off

Has anyone on here had experience testing after being laid off from a professional fire position?

We are staring grimly at the possibility of significant layoffs if we don't pass our EMS levy increase this coming November. We failed by 1.5% in the primary this past week (58.5% - needed 60% to pass).

While I am confident we'll calibrate our message to the public and pass the vote this fall, I want to be pragmatic and prepared in the event we don't pass it...

I have been a paid firefighter/EMT at a legitimate, respected suburban department for just over two years now. I have worked very hard, immersed myself in training, pride and tradition, and have embraced my "junior man" role beyond probation.

My main question:

In the event I do start testing again, how do I present myself to oral boards and chief's interviews? No matter what, I will show willingness to be a junior man, even a probie or recruit, and to learn things in the "way" of a prospective department. BUT, should I draw on my experience as a professional firefighter and the circumstances of my testing situation?

While I know there will likely be other things that may help me (IAFF interlocal networking, FOOLS networking, etc.), ultimately the rubber will hit the road in the oral board...

Thanks for any input!
    Last edited by powerhourcoug; 08-27-2010 at 12:18 AM.

Forum Member

Yes have been there

Yes blow your horn no one else will

With today's economy the department should reliase there will be experinced people looking for jobs

MembersZone Subscriber

I am in the same boat. 6 yrs as a fire/ medic and then.. gone and forgotten. I did one interview and pushed my experience too hard, I am sure of. PRACTICE Interviews!! The hardest thing for me right now is staying positive and knowing I will get a better job. And I also am retesting for national registry ( which I chose not to renew), so that keeps me ****ed off and busy.