Thread: Helmet Weight

Forum Member

Default Helmet Weight

This is my first posting thread. I've been through the site for quite some time and have always done alot of research here. Now it's time for me to ask for some specific help.

I tried a search for helmet weight with not much to be found.....I have been through all the manufacturers' sites and there is hardly a mention of weight. I want to know that, for example, that a Cairns 1044 is __ ounces which compares to a 1000 at __ ounces or a TL2 at __ ounces.

Is there a spreadsheet of helmet weights available?

Here's my particular situation........I've been wearing a Conway Heritage for three years....the fit is excellent (I also like the styling and the protection)......but over time I have gotten to the point where weight is becoming a factor for me.....from all I read, and continue to read, is that the Heritage is a rather heavy helmet. Duh. So, I went out and ordered myself a Phenix....wow, what a difference...I could wear it all night.....I like the 'bend' but not the 'bowl' look.....unfortunately it does not provide me the same 'feel' and comfortable fit. That's most important to me.

In addition, I never realized that I'd need to spend an additional $50 for a shield on the Phenix. I thought that my current shield would fit....but Phenix has an odd holder and size.

I can not make the financial investment in a Cairns leather.

Here I sit considering a change again. I will stay traditional style. I will consider 'plastic'. I know I can ask for recommendations but do not want to open up a thread of "get this - n - get that".....what I want is a reference chart of helmet weight. From there I can make other judgements.

I sure wish I had a place to go and to try models in a store setting, but not available anywhere nearby that I know of (Southern Maine). Is going to a show my only option?