Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Smokejumping and the structural world

I know this may seem like it would be better in the wildland section, but as a career path from starting in wildland going into the structural world would spending time as a smokejumper be a good way to start and build a career from? or should one go strait to applying to a city department?

Is wildland or smokejumping experience beneficial to an applicant to a city departement?

Does anyone know anything about how to become a smokejumper?

Does anyone have any other info about smokejumpers?

Any incite would benefit me greatly as I am relatively new to fire fighting and would like to make a career out of it.

Thank you for your time.

(please no links to sites that I could easily get by typing smokejumper into google, I'm looking for personal knowledge of the subject)

Edit: I'm thinking that I posted in the wrong section I believe this may be better in the career advancement section, I will re-post this in that area.
    Last edited by CasperC3; 09-07-2010 at 08:50 PM.

Talking

I dunno that you mis posted it , But lets face it back east smokejumping means about as much to these folks as My 35 years In the fire service here in Connecticut would help me get a red card.. phhffft

maybe in a department like LA county Sac city or at least regional Orange Cty FA where they have Forestry issues and resources I'd Love to be a Cat skinner in LA Cty, But have no wish to actually move out there..lol 30 years ago I'd have been on the fence like you well other way around something to be said for jumping outta a perfectly good airplane.. but its really brain damaged to jump out 200 miles from anywhere with a Handful of guys INTO a fire.. with hand tools..hahaha

Forum Member