Forum Member

Default Smokejumping and the structural world?

I know this may seem like it would be better in the wildland section, but as a career path from starting in wildland going into the structural world would spending time as a smokejumper be a good way to start and build a career from? or should one go strait to applying to a city department?

Is wildland or smokejumping experience beneficial to an applicant to a city departement?

Does anyone know anything about how to become a smokejumper?

Does anyone have any other info about smokejumpers?

Any incite would benefit me greatly as I am relatively new to fire fighting and would like to make a career out of it.

Thank you for your time.

(please no links to sites that I could easily get by typing smokejumper into google, I'm looking for personal knowledge of the subject)

Re-posted from Employment and hiring section

Forum Member

how old are you??

smokejumping is seasonal for beginners

hurst when you do not land correctly

two different firefighting enviroments

might help you get in shape

check some of the history or discovery channels, they seem to be a little tougher now a days on training seesm alittle worse then marines!!!

Back In Black

I can't help but think it would make for an interesting interview.

Sure beats pumping gas for a resume builder.
    I am now a past chief and the views, opinions, and comments are mine and mine alone. I do not speak for any department or in any official capacity. Although, they would be smart to listen to me.

"The last thing I want to do is hurt you. But it's still on the list."

"When tempted to fight fire with fire, remember that the Fire Department usually uses water."

Forum Member

check you tube for some video

i know you do not want links but:::

http://www.smokejumpers.com/smokejum...editions_id=11

MembersZone Subscriber