Forum Member

Default How would you like to be promoted to?

Hello everyone,

I am a graduate student working towards his Masters in Digital Media, and I am working on a paper regarding promoting products to emergency responders through social media. I simply want to ask: How would you like businesses to promote their products to you? I know there is no one single answer to this question, tell me how you feel personally about it, as a firefighter.

Thank you,
    Ben Weinberg

Forum Member

Take your bull**** spam elsewhere @sswipe.
    Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

Forum Member

I'm sorry if there was a misunderstanding, I'm not trying to advertise or sell anything. I'm just a student interested in the emergency response industry and I'm looking into how marketing for the industry works.

Forum Member

Interesting discussion topic. A few thoughts from my experience. First, the fire service as a whole is steeped in tradition, which can make it very resistant to change. There are some departments that are very progressive about trying and evaluating new technologies and products, but many discount anything new as a ďgizmoĒ until itís been used for 50 years, regardless of potential benefit. You may want to search the forum for threads on the ďFIT-5Ē device to see what Iím talking about. Also, there is a deep distrust of outsiders (see previous post ). If itís not a firefighter selling it, many wonít want to buy it or trust that it will work.