Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Need advise on what classes to take

I am currently looking to become a firefighter here in Florida. I am planning to get certified and was wondering what would be best for me to do. I know Miami Dade Community College offers EMT certification and Paramedic Certification. Should I get certified as a EMT first before going to their Fire Academy or should I just go straight to the Fire Academy that they offer in Miami Dade Community College. Any advice would be very helpful. Thank you

Forum Member

Tough call. If you do emt then ff you forget some emt stuff ..... if you do it the other way around ... you forget a LOT of firefighter stuff. I vote EMT. Then you are applying with FD's while getting your medic.

PS being a medic helps u get hired as ff. HINT HINT.

Forum Member

Thanks for the advise. I'm a veteran and with my EMT certification do you think I'm going to have a hard time getting hired?

Forum Member

You will get Veteran's points, which will help you out.

If I could do it again I would of went through EMT first, before fire. Alot of the academies in the state are requiring you to have an EMT cert at the time of your application nowadays, not sure about Miami-Dade. Fire school hits on alot of the basics of EMT, and will keep it somewhat fresh in your mind, so that will help for medic school as well.
    Firefighter/Paramedic

Forum Member

You used to be able to go right into the fire academy but now they require you to have your EMT certifications so your gonna have to do that first. Im currently in EMT school here in Tampa then im going to the fire academy in the spring.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by nappleto7 View Post