Forum Member

Default I could really use some help

I graduated an academy at a community college and I have ifsac FFII, hazmat OPS, and a state EMT-B license but I don't have airport. I've been looking for work in my state for a year but this state is kinda broke and I haven't landed any of the few jobs that come up. What companies with overseas contracts can I hope to get hired by?
    Thanks

Forum Member

What state are you in?

Have you looked at other states that will accept your training???

Forum Member

I live in New Mexico and I have a New Mexico EMT-B license, but my firefighter license is from texas, where the college is. I applied to a department in texas but I got eliminated because my EMT-B license isn't from Texas. I'm not nationally certified, so that doesn't help much either.
    I'm very interested in overseas firefighting because I really want to travel, and the money is a very persuasive factor as well, considering how poor my family is.

Forum Member

Cannot speak to the emt cert, but have you looked at what it takes so you can work in any state???
    Tx has openings all the time

http://www.tcfp.state.tx.us/employment.asp

Check the varied company names on this thread and apply if you want to go overseas

Teex appears to have a class coming up

Quote:
    Originally Posted by 50
    The TEEX class is Dec.6-11th It's on there website on PDF. It's called ARF 100. It also says you have to register 30 days in advance.
    Just talked to the guy today. I'm going

This says march 2012 but call them and see about dec
    http://www.teex.com/teex.cfm?pageid=...14&navdiv=ESTI

Forum Member

Forum Member

Any college hours???

http://www.dfwairport.com/careers/dps.php

The initial hiring requirements.
    Have at least 30 hours or more of college credit.
    Pass both a written and physical ability test.
    Pass a polygraph test.
    Complete and pass a background investigation.
    Successfully pass the chief's interview.