Forum Member

Default Testing Statewide

Hey guys,

I'm looking to get hired at pretty much any dept nationwide. I am quite new in this whole process. I would love for you guys to share your feedback/guidance on these three questions:

1. What is the best way to see what depts are hiring nationwide? I've come across a bunch of sites that list jobs for a fee but I'm thinking there has to be a database where depts announce job postings somewhere. Any ideas? A firefighter I spoke to said Iaff.org posted jobs but I didn't see any.

2. Are there any universal statewide requirements besides the CPAT needed to apply to depts across the country?

2. What specifically a 24 year old college graduate, non-veteran can do to become an attractive applicant. I'm in great shape and personable. What are the specific "difference makers" fire chiefs look at when selecting a team member?

Many, many thanks in advance for your insights. These 3 questions are extremely important in giving me guidance on how to put my best foot forward.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by okeefer99 View Post
    Hey guys,

I'm looking to get hired at pretty much any dept nationwide. I am quite new in this whole process. I would love for you guys to share your feedback/guidance on these three questions:

1. What is the best way to see what depts are hiring nationwide? I've come across a bunch of sites that list jobs for a fee but I'm thinking there has to be a database where depts announce job postings somewhere. Any ideas? A firefighter I spoke to said Iaff.org posted jobs but I didn't see any.

2. Are there any universal statewide requirements besides the CPAT needed to apply to depts across the country?

2. What specifically a 24 year old college graduate, non-veteran can do to become an attractive applicant. I'm in great shape and personable. What are the specific "difference makers" fire chiefs look at when selecting a team member?