Forum Member

Default Polygraph Question(s)

I have a polygraph test coming in the beginning of December and wanted to get a few things straight before I walk in. They county I applied for gave me a HUGE packet full of open ended questions to answer before my test. My question is this, at the test site are they typically yes or no answers or am I allowed to elaborate? I mean if someone asked me if I have ever drank then drove I would say yes. But really I haven't driven drunk, Ive drank waited a long period of time then drove sober. Also, I hate to admit to things I did in the far past because I fear I will be judged on this. I'm going to tell the truith but I would like the opportunity to explain myself.

Also, are these tests measuring if I actually lie, or to see what kind of person I am, or both?

I guess I'm just over thinking this because I really want the job, I fear I may sell myself short.

Forum Member

I've only taken two, so I'm no expert, but I passed both of them. There is another poly topic somewhere in here that just explains the whole process and what to expect. It was helpful for me to know what to expect going into it my first time, because even if you have nothing in your past it can still rattle you. I will try to find it and post a link in a bit.