Forum Member

Default Hello from middle Tennessee

Hello everyone,I have enjoyed the reading and signed up recently to add my two cents and ask some questions and hopefully learn a lot along the way.

As for myself, I am 31 at the time, I am married and have 1 son who loves the fire service as well. I moved down here a few year ago from Michigan for work and I am now getting back into what I love, service and protecting my community as a firefighter. I try to do some fishing when I can, a little golf here and there, play some games with my brothers at the station and enjoy the time I get with my family.

As for the fire side of my life, I am currently a volunteer firefighter with my first responder license and 3 months from my EMT. I should be taking my FF1 commission within the next month or two depending on schedule. I have my extrication, some haz-mat tech and overall operations, driver/operator, federal wildland firefighter with red card, and probably a few more certs and classes to go with it all. I am working towards a career firefighter position and would eventually like to get my medic license and probably at least an associates in fire science. I pay the bills as a licensed land surveyor and I am near going out on my own and would like that work that in with my fire career on a small time scale. Just enough to fill some of the gaps in work but definitely not taking precedence over the department. I am basically here to get whatever knowledge out of these forums that I can to help get me there sooner and smoother and also to help with my day to day as a volunteer. I am on the training board for my department and also the maintenance man for my station. So I do have some to offer as well. I appreciate all the contributions on here and any advice I can to help me get on one of the local full-time departments like Nashville, Murfreesboro or Franklin.

If you made it through this all I congratulate you and thank you for your time.

Forum Member