Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Pressure Control Governors

I am looking for some help in understanding/troubleshooting a (possible) issue with a pressure control governor. I am a new driver and am still trying to learn what is "normal" operating proceedures when pumping apparatus equiped with pressure control governors. The problem I am having is specific to one apparatus and I have not been able to duplicate it on any other apparatus equiped with pressure governors. When attempting to throttle up while in the Pressure mode the system allows for initial increase in RPMs but within a few seconds of reaching the desired pressure the governor returns to idle and will not hold pressure. If I throttle up in RPM mode and then switch to pressure mode the pressure will hold however at I now have no ability to manually control the throttle. Any throttle adjustments require me to switch back to RPM mode, make throttle adjustments and then return to Pressure mode. As I am not regulary assigned to this truck, and as I stated previously, all other engines in our fleet that are equiped with pressure governors will allow me to increase/decrease throttle in either pressure or RPM mode, I am unsure if there is a problem with this specific governor or if its possible that it could be designed to only allow throttle adjustments while in RPM mode?? The drivers regulary assigned to the truck are saying that it is "normal" for that truck, but I am unsure if "normal" for that truck is the same as "normal for the system??? any help would be appreciated as I am unsure of safety issues that may arise if I am required to remove the system from pressure mode every time a throttle adjustment is needed.

It sounds like either a problem with the governor, or a pressure sensor issue. I would definitely get in touch with the manufacturer of the governor. "Normal for this truck" doesn't sound normal at all...