Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

We all get a pager (plus we have text-on-dispatch on our cell phones available) and respond when available. At just over 100 calls a year, with half of them strictly EMS, it's just not worth keeping people in the station. After a while they'd get tired of preplans, scut work and sitting around and would stop showing up anyhow.
    Opinions my own. Standard disclaimers apply.

Everyone goes home. Safety begins with you.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by BigT View Post
    So I'm a little new to the process, but how does volunteer FFing actually work? Do vollies pull shifts at the house or what? I've read other forums that mention beepers for volunteers and I'm not sure how the whole process works once you've gone through training.
    Like mentioned before, everyplace is different. We are issued a pager once we are through training and have maintained a minimum call volume for a while. We try to keep a minimum staffing at the station all of the time. Everybody is expected to run either a day evening or overnight duty every week. Home response is used to staff the 2nd piece. We run just over 2000 calls a year.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Eng34FF View Post
    Like mentioned before, everyplace is different. We are issued a pager once we are through training and have maintained a minimum call volume for a while. We try to keep a minimum staffing at the station all of the time. Everybody is expected to run either a day evening or overnight duty every week. Home response is used to staff the 2nd piece. We run just over 2000 calls a year.
    With that high a call volume for a volunteer (or is it a combo) department, I would imagine you are trying to keep as high a membership as possible.