Forum Member

Default Students that fight fires

Hey everyone. I'm new to this forum and didn't see any information regarding this issue. I'm a graduate student in physics. Since early this year I have wanted to volunteer as a FF where I live. I was wondering if anyone had any experiences, stories, or maybe opinions on how departments look upon students that volunteer, or anything related to students and volunteering. Thanks for any responses.

MembersZone Subscriber

I think that you're going to find that it depends on the department, the student and everything in between. It helps to try to look at things from the Department's point of view. The main thing is, can you meet the department's activity requirements? For how long?

Without a doubt if it interests you look into becoming a volunteer firefighter. It can be exciting, and rewarding, and may be a good change of pace from sitting at a desk doing physics . Most departments are accepting new members. Just be upfront about your situation.. specifically: how long will you live in the area? Do you live there full time or do you go home "in the summer"? While there how much time do you have to comit to the department?

The concern has to do with time and training. If you're only staying in the area during the school year, and only for a few years then by the time you're trained and functioning on your own in the department you may be looking to graduate and move away.. On the flip side, maybe you're a year-round student looking to become faculty, with lots of hours during the day to run calls..

My suggestion, go talk to your local FD and figure out how you can fit into their organization. Be up front with them, and get an honest idea of the hours required.. it could certainly be a good fit..
    So you call this your free country
    Tell me why it costs so much to live
    -3dd

MembersZone Subscriber