Forum Member

Default Minitor V Problem

My Minitor V is squealing if I turn up the volume to loud. Anyone else have this problem? And Does anyone know how to fix it?

Now have a Video of the Squealing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3KUq...&feature=feedu
    Last edited by Wacker1; 12-29-2010 at 12:38 PM.

Forum Member

Define squealing. A solid tone? What channel/mode are you on? You're not inadvertently putting it into one of the porgramming modes, are you?

Forum Member

It happens in every function. I'm a radio engineer so I know what I'm doing with the pager, but if I turn it up to loud it almost sounds like interference but it doesn't matter where I am it'll still do it if I turn it all the way up.

Forum Member

Default Yes

Yes, I have multiple audio recordings of this problem, and additional details.

Forum Member

Open the pager. Get thin piece of foam and place it behind the speaker. I can not for the life of me remember the name of this phenomenon. But this will fix it. The audio amp is picking up the speaker's own vibration and literally causing its own feedback. I used to do this to all our Minitor V's until Motorola started doing it at the factory.
    Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Wacker1 View Post
    It happens in every function. I'm a radio engineer so I know what I'm doing with the pager, but if I turn it up to loud it almost sounds like interference but it doesn't matter where I am it'll still do it if I turn it all the way up.
    Quote Originally Posted by nmfire View Post
    Open the pager. Get thin piece of foam and place it behind the speaker. I can not for the life of me remember the name of this phenomenon. But this will fix it. The audio amp is picking up the speaker's own vibration and literally causing its own feedback. I used to do this to all our Minitor V's until Motorola started doing it at the factory.

nmfire, you miss the point.