Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Galvaneal, aluminium, or?

for the body, Galvaneal, aluminium, or?

I like Galvaneal so far.

I am no apparatus designer, but...; I have yet to see paint stay on aluminum for very long here in Minnesota. Especially by hinges, edges, and handles. Appears to be corrosion to me.
    My posts reflect my views and opinions, not the organization I work for or my IAFF local. Some of which they may not agree. I.A.C.O.J. member
    "I ask, Sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people. To disarm the people is the best and most effectual way to enslave them."
    George Mason
    Co-author of the Second Amendment
    during Virginia's Convention to Ratify the Constitution, 1788
    Elevator Rescue Information

Let's talk fire trucks! BoxAlarm187's Avatar

Aluminum is all we use at work (40+ front-line suppression pieces), and we've had good luck with it.

We have a mixture of stainless steel and aluminum at the VFD, and haven't seen any great difference between the two.

Often times, your selection will be based on the elements you'll have to deal with most often.

With a handful of exceptions, galvaneal hasn't been purchased in our area for a couple of decades.
    Career Fire Captain
    Volunteer Chief Officer

Never taking for granted that I'm privileged enough to have the greatest job in the world!

We have been told a number of times the dirt roads that are our main form of road here are best handled by Galvaneal, but I want to get this right.

Quote Originally Posted by LVFD301
    We have been told a number of times the dirt roads that are our main form of road here are best handled by Galvaneal, but I want to get this right.
    Not sure where exactly your located, so I can't really recommend one over the other when it comes to weather conditions.

Is S/S too expensive to think about as an option for the body???

FM1
    I'm the one Fire and Rescue calls, when they need to be Rescued.