Forum Member

Default How to decide How/When/Where to Vent

I am a Junior Firefighter with crest, and I am just trying to figure out how/when/where to vent in these types of scenarios

Two-Story buildings:
    Arrive on-scene see turbulant smoke leaving the building on the A-side through a window.
    - Would you vent all the windows?
    - Would you vertical ventiliate through the roof?
    - Would you use PPV?

Single-Story buildings:
    See smoke coming through the smoke stack when arrive on-scene and just as you enter it self-ventilates.
    - Would you knock all the windows out?
    - Would you Vertically vent?
    - Would you horizontally vent?
    - Would you use PPV?

Not trying to get insulted or anything just asking questions.

Forum Member

There are way too many variables to answer any of those questions.
    ?

Forum Member

Gain as mucj knowledge as you can about fire behavior, building construction and fire attack, and how ventilation will help or hurt the crews inside.

Use the resources at your station to study as much as you can.

MembersZone Subscriber

Your scenario has too many variables to answer. Turbulent smoke means window is broken and ventilation has begun. Maybe take more windows out until team can get to roof. Another option might be not to take windows so ppv can be used.

Forum Member

It's obvious that you would automatically ventilate horizontally on the A-side and let the fire stay in that spot. Then you would throw up a ladder on the 2d story and vent the second floor windows. If you ask anyone else they would tell you to VES, but if you're a Jr in the southern area, your department probably won't know what VES is anyways.
    Benton Fire District Four
    Ladder One
    First Due!

Caddo Parish Fire District 1
    Career Firefighter/Paramedic

When things get rough, just say:
    Acabo de perder cinco minutos de su vida.

Forum Member