Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default career change help!!!!!

Hi guys my name is Bo, I'm 27 and from Annapolis MD. Right now I'm in the process of trying to start a new career as a firefighter. I was a radiological safety tech, not the job for me. So I tested for 2 entry level firefighter positions, both had around 3,000 people apply. I passed the written and the physical test but I think I was pass over for someone with more qualifications. Plus there are not very many fire jobs in Maryland. So I was thinking of going to the fire academy in Florida that offers both firefighter 1, 2 and EMT for $4,000. I am willing to relocate if it will help. What would be the best path for me.

Thanks

Forum Member

Yea, it is really difficult to get noticed out of 3000 people. Is there a volly dept. you can join locally? Those can help you a ton if you are interested. I wouldn't join a vol just to up my chances of getting hired though. They will read right through that. Join one for the right reasons and get some info. Having 1001-I-II is usually a huge bonus. EMT will also make yourself very marketable. If you had those you would drastically improve your odds. I think that's a little high for a price though. Maybe not since EMT is included. I am from MS and we have a great Academy with IFSAC 1001 but it is really difficult to get into a class right now. If you were on a volunteer department a lot of times you can get in some of the grant funded courses in rescue which will boost your qualifications. I received several hundred hours of technical training while I was a volunteer for free.