Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Question Looking for 3M Fire Fighting Foam - Help?

Hi all,

I'm a scientist, not a firefighter, but I thought I'd post to see if someone who reads this forum can help me. My organization deals with historically contaminated sites, and we are conducting a laboratory study of fire fighting foams (a.k.a. aqueous film-forming foams, or AFFFs).

As some of you may know, the major historical producer of AFFFs was the 3M company. However, they stopped producing AFFFs around 2000, due to health concerns regarding the presence of two chemicals, PFOS and PFOA, in the mixtures.

In our research, we are analyzing new and old AFFFs to see what chemicals they contain, so we can better anticipate what types of chemicals will be present at AFFF-contaminated sites.

Here's our problem: We can obtain stock of the current-use AFFFs, but we have not been able to track down any of the old 3M stock. This is product that hasn't been produced for about a decade, and most have replaced their old stock with the more environmentally friendly products. It is likely, however, that there are pails or large containers of the old stock out there. We only need a small amount to do our analysis.

The product goes by a few names, but is usually referred to as:

"3M AFFF" or "3M Light Water"

If anyone has some of this stock, or can point me in the right direction, please let me know by replying or sending me a PM. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your attention.

Quote Originally Posted by fluorine View Post
    Hi all,

I'm a scientist, not a firefighter, but I thought I'd post to see if someone who reads this forum can help me. My organization deals with historically contaminated sites, and we are conducting a laboratory study of fire fighting foams (a.k.a. aqueous film-forming foams, or AFFFs).