Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Dallas fire rescue hiring 2011!

Forum Member

Smile Dallas fire rescue hiring 2011!

DALLAS FIRE-RESCUE IS HIRING.

http://www.dallasfirerescue.com/recruit.htm

Let's talk!

MembersZone Subscriber

Does Dallas require new hires to go to paramedic school? It doesn't say on the website specifically, but some portions kinda imply you have to. I know, pick up the phone & call. But I called the other day & didn't get much help & insight from the call taker that I spoke to. Any input is appreciated.

Forum Member

Currently, we're in such a budget problem that we have recruits who are coming straight out of the fire academy and working on an engine/truck instead of a rescue (ambulance).

I'm not sure if new hires will be required to go to paramedic school. However, more than likely, at some time, they will be sent to paramedic school.

As a Dallas firefighter, I can say without question:

Dallas Fire-Rescue is THE most aggressive interior fire fighting department out here.

Dallas Fire-Rescue as THE best retirement system in the nation. You could easily become a millionaire during your career.

http://www.dpfp.org/

Forum Member

I know that Dallas does not require any certs, but what is done with candidates that already have their FF&Medic Certs. Are they required to go through training again? What is the ideal candidate for DFR?

Forum Member

I'm not in the recruiting section. However, as I understand it, if there are enough candidates who are already firefighter/paramedic certified, there might be a Fast Track program. This is just to brush up on skills and show how Dallas does things. Some years they have a Fast Track program...other years don't.