Forum Member

Default Volunteering/School/Work?

I am currently looking into moving back to my hometown and attending my small college there to get an associates degree and then begin firefighting/emt courses. My issue here is I would like to volunteer for a small department down the road from my hometown but with going to school and trying to work 40 hours a week is this possible? Do most workplaces let you go to call if you are scheduled to work if you are a volunteer firefighter? If so, do I need any kind of certs to volunteer or do I just show up and say I would like to volunteer? Once again I thank you all for your input on all of my questions it has been a GREAT help for me!

Forum Member

I can't speak as a firefighter but I am a manager at a local grocery store and I have to say as much as I would personally be okay with a volunteer firefighter leaving to take a call while they were at work I can say that wouldnt always be possible. If you are put on a schedule at work, your employer expects you to be there and to work your full shift and there is no telling if you would be leaving for an hour or you wouldnt be back for the day. Like I said, I cant speak from a firefighters stand point, but that is from an employers point of view and how they may see it. It would all more depend on where you go to work. If you are working in retail running a register up at the front it would be much harder for you to leave than if you were working somewhere where maybe the workload wasnt as high or somewhere where maybe one or two other guys would be able to pick up the slack of you not being there. I would ask an employer if they have any policies regarding this. Not nessisarily firefighting policies but just policies on emplyees leaving before the end of their scheduled shift.

Forum Member