Forum Member

Default Aspiring Firefighter, need academic direction

Hello forum,

Currently I'm a high school student aspiring to become a firefighter, with only about 24 hours of volunteer work and am going to try to join a long term volunteer program with a local station.

I was hoping that some of the members here could point me in the right direction to achieve my goal.

Right now I'm planning on attending Western Oregon University to attain my Fire Service Administration degree right out of high school. From there I plan to attend a community college for my EMT-Basic, join a fire station in some way (as a worker or volunteer) while continuing my education up to a Paramedic License.

I do plan on moving up the chain of command throughout my career so I thought that I might as well get my Fire Service Administration degree that will also show my commitment to the career.

I was wondering what thoughts some of you here have of this, and if you have any suggestions on what I should plan to do.

Any help is appreciated.

Forum Member

Ah, thank you for the move! Was wondering where this kind of section was at.

Forum Member