Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Quick question

Forum Member

Default Quick question

If one gets hired as GS-3, how long does it take to go up the payscale? Also if one is hired as a GS-3, I assume they send you to school for training and etc? I am asking because I applied for a posistion that was a gs-3 and just got an email saying that I have been referred to the hiring manager. I have no FF experience, so I assume they are going to train me and etc. I am just curious what the timeline is from say a gs-3 to a gs-7? What should I expect? Any help is greatly appreciated.

There's really no way to answer that without knowing the specifics of the job requirement and the position description (I.E. Time-in-Grade requirements, etc....) It also depends on the "full performance rating" of the position. Some facilities top firefighters are 6's while others are 7's. I can tell you though that I was hired as a GS4 Trainee, and from the the time I walked into the door to the time I made GS7 was well over 6 or 7 years. Ended my career as a GS7 step 4.

Most facilities will bump you to the next grade or step, and then you have to spend "time in grade" 6 months or 1 year before you are eligible for the next step/grade. This may vary.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by RobertIIII View Post
    If one gets hired as GS-3, how long does it take to go up the payscale? Also if one is hired as a GS-3, I assume they send you to school for training and etc? I am asking because I applied for a posistion that was a gs-3 and just got an email saying that I have been referred to the hiring manager. I have no FF experience, so I assume they are going to train me and etc. I am just curious what the timeline is from say a gs-3 to a gs-7? What should I expect? Any help is greatly appreciated.