Forum Member

Default FF/medic - corpsman HELP!

I am a 23 y/o firefighter/EMT with a FD in california and will be recieving my Medic in about 3-5 months. I am very interested in joining Navy reserves as a corpsman. I am ready and willing to fight for my country overseas if needed. Does anyone have any sounds advice or experience? Thank you

Worldwide Menace

Quote Originally Posted by FirstDue52 View Post
    I am a 23 y/o firefighter/EMT with a FD in california and will be recieving my Medic in about 3-5 months. I am very interested in joining Navy reserves as a corpsman. I am ready and willing to fight for my country overseas if needed. Does anyone have any sounds advice or experience? Thank you
    Thank you for your considering the miliary as an option. how do I say this.. If I remember correctly, the corpsman scope of practice is EMT-B. Is only practicing at a -B level going to cause you to lapse in your medic certification over the course of your enlistment?

-Damien

Forum Member

Don't worry about loosing your Paramedic Cert. if you get activated, it wont happen! You will just have to make up training and get your IV's and Tubes in. I work with a Paramedic who is a Navy Corpsman FMF which means he is a Combat Corpsman assigned to the Marines and has been activated 3 time since Sept. 11th. If you want to be a Paramedic in the Military the Air Force PJ's are the only ones I know that are 100 % ALS Nationally Certified.

Oh, and because he was a Lieutenant Paramedic he was able to join the Naval Reserve as an E-4 and know he is an E-8 in 14 years.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by DFurtman View Post
    Thank you for your considering the miliary as an option. how do I say this.. If I remember correctly, the corpsman scope of practice is EMT-B. Is only practicing at a -B level going to cause you to lapse in your medic certification over the course of your enlistment?

-Damien