Forum Member

Default Paying for Dispatch

Curious how 911 Dispatch is handled in your area.

Does your department pay an annual fee, a per call fee, or nothing at all for emergency dispatch. Also if your department does pay a fee are you a Volunteer or paid department?

This question has come up in our small town. Our 911 dispatch center is located in the Sheriff's dept and they are looking to make some money.

They want to start charging our local Volunteer Fire departments a per call fee. Most of our volunteer departments are so broke that they can barely keep fuel in the trucks, we actually have some departments where the volunteers have used their own credit cards to fuel up a truck and our County wants these departments to pay for dispatch.

Forum Member

I dont even know if that would be legal...I'm not a lawyer, but something tells me it would NOT be legal.

A municipality, whethere it be a big city, or a small rural community, are usually legally mandated to provide emergency services of some sort. Many of course "contract" with Fire Companies, that just happen to be an incorporation seperate from the Municipality. Now the Municipality wants to charge the very contractor (that they are legally obligated to provide) money to tell them when to go to an emergency????

I know you guys dont have any money, but you better tap the piggy bank on this one and take it to your attorney.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

So what if you don't pay? They won't dispatch you?
    Career Firefighter
    Volunteer Captain

-Professional in Either Role-

Quote Originally Posted by Rescue101 View Post
    I don't mind fire rolling over my head. I just don't like it rolling UNDER my a**.

Forum Member

lol, someone isnt thinking straight.

MembersZone Subscriber