Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LED or not

Forum Member

Question LED or not

Some people have told me that LED lights don't cut through smoke very well; some people have told me they do. What's the real truth?

I'm looking for a right-angle light to hang on a coat.

One firefighter told me that non-LED lights cut through smoke better but that, at least in his experience, lighting through smoke isn't actually particularly important. He prefers LED so as to have a brighter, longer-lasting (per charge) beam for utility purposes.

But I've just read an older thread here in which someone said LED cuts through smoke better.

Since I'm only just starting the basic firefighting course in a couple weeks, I have no experience to guide me. What kind of bulb cuts through smoke better, and how important is that anyway?

Two lights in particular I'm considering are the Streamlight Survivor and the Pelican Big Ed. My station doesn't issue any kind of coat light so I'm pretty much free to pick whatever I want.

If it makes a difference, I'm with a suburban FD, with actual structure fires few and far between. But of course I'd still want my gear to be ready for one in case I ever actually do get in one...
    -Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert

The comments and opinions I express are solely my own and do not necessarily represent those of any employer or volunteer organization with which I am associated. Nobody is responsible for anything I say other than I alone.

Forum Member

I too have heard the same two arguments. Streamlight has discontinued the Survivor lights in anything but LED. So if you want Halogen/Xenon, it's Pelican or nothing.

Here is how i break it down:

Halogen/Xenon bulbs in Anglehead flashlights:

Pro's:
    1. Bright, warm light. 72 lumens on the rechargeable. 48 lumens on the C battery version.
    2. Beam Color cuts smoke well.
    3. LIFETIME Warranty.

Con's: