Forum Member

Default Senior Essay: The cost of 911 abuse.

I'll preface this by saying I'm not a firefighter. I'm getting there, but where I'm at right now is that I just finished an internship at a CA fire department and am about to graduate with my BA. If I shouldn't be posting on this forum I'll delete this, but I know there is a wealth of experience and knowledge on this site that I am hoping to be able to humbly draw from.

I'm in the process of writing my senior essay right now. It is focusing on the issue of non-emergency 911 calls that some consider abuse of the 911 system: the calls that might make you wonder why they were ever placed. While I was an intern I remember reading a story about two children who were killed in a fire because the nearest engine was on a call for a lift assist at a nursing home they go to at least every day. This is the kind of incident and tragic cost I'm talking about. Also in this category is all the people who use the fire department as their personal "free taxi service" or attempt to get to the front of the ER line by calling 911.

I think many of you know what I'm talking about and have found yourselves frustrated by the same thing. Right now I'm compiling data, stories, and laws (see: Oregon's new Senate Bill 213 and Lakewood FD's use of taxis) for this paper. I am hoping that people here will be willing to share perspective, experience, and/or advice on how I should be looking at this.

Thanks everyone, stay safe.

MembersZone Subscriber

I hope someone can figure it out and fix it, as as both a taxpayer and a Fire/EMS Department officer the overuse and abuse is truly harming those in real need.

A few things I'd consider: