Forum Member

Default Can I apply for US Firefighter Jobs

Hi All,

Hoping you may be able to help with my question. I'm currently a Firefighter Watch Manager in the UK, I suppose its what you would call a Lieutenant, and want to move with my family to the US and become a Firefighter there. My question is would my previous experience and qualifications count in the US and do I have to be a citezen before I can apply?

Cheers

Benji

Forum Member

Well to be honest I really don't know, we've never had someone from another country come and ask to join our Department. But I would imagine that your qualifications and experience from your current job in the UK would count for something here. But regardless of your level of certification you currently have, you'll have to be certified to the standards of any Dept you join here in the US.

This is because of one pure and simple fact, things here are different from across the pond in the UK. Our apparatus are vastly different, both in size and in some cases general operation. Building construction here in the US is also very different, so the way we approach and fight a house fire can be very different as well.

I suppose the best advice I can give you is to determine what area you'd be moving too (The west coast, the south, maybe even New England) Call a few Departments from that area, ask about what they require for new applicants. They should be able to help you much better.
    Opinions expressed by myself here are just that, mine. And not that of ANY organization or service I am affiliated with.

Forum Member

I think most, if not all require US Citizenship.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by FWDbuff View Post
    I think most, if not all require US Citizenship.
    That would be incorrect. A valid visa or green card is permissible for paid and volunteer departments. As long as you have a valid I-9, you are good to go.

FM1