Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Can you volunteer in two States

I am currently a member of a volunteer fire department in Upstate New York and an Out of State member in Prince George's County, Maryland. Recently my fire department informed me I can not be an active vounteer firefighter in two volunteer departments and showed me a New York State law where it indicated I can't be a volunteer in two departments. Being its a NYS law book I am assuming it is within New York State you cant be a volunteer in two departments. If there any requlations anyone knows about prohibiting what I currently do ?

Thanks

First off I am not a lawyer and I am not a resident of New York, however I would say that New York law does not have any force or effect outside its state lines. I would not imagine they would be able to regulate your status as a memebr of a department outside their state line. I would imagine the law states that you can be only a member of a single department. Since Newyork cannot regulate departments outside its state lines one could make the argument that you are within the law becasue you are a member of only one department within the jurisdiction of the state of New York.

MembersZone Subscriber

I'm not aware of any laws prohibiting volunteering in two states. The law that you were shown is a NY state law. NY State doesn't have any jurisdiction outside of NY and can't prevent you from volunteering in another state. It would have to be a federal law to prevent that. We have people in Maryland that volunteer at two departments in the same state.

If I had to guess, the law was probably put there to prevent collecting any LOSAP or equivalent from multiple departments.

Forum Member

Unless the law specifies that you cannot be in two NY departments at once, then you are still in violation.