Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Question Volunteer Departments near Orange County

Hello everyone,

I am looking for volunteer fire departments near Orange County. I have some experience in firefighting and have completed a few firefighting courses in S.C. (where I formerly resided). I know Orange County Fire/Rescue takes volunteers/reserves but they require the person to be FF1 to participate. I unfortunately do not have FF1. I understand that Florida has regulations on who can enter a IDLH environment but are there any departments near Orange County or in the county that will provide this training free of charge or at least let you participate on the fire scene/ride apparatus while working to complete the classes.

The bottom line is I would like to volunteer with a fire department and be able to complete training to eventually earn FF1 or higher however I don't have alot of money to complete all of the classes out of pocket. I also need a fire department that is not too far from Orange County/Orlando.

I also might be interested in volunteering for a Rescue Squad/EMS squad but it would have to be a squad willing to let someone volunteer without extensive experience or training.

Thanks everyone for your help.

They don't care where you have received training and certifications, unless it is in Florida.
    Stay Safe and Well Out There....

Always remembering 9-11-2001 and 343+ Brothers

Forum Member

Try Kissimmee Heights, Castleberry, if not it may be a little bit of a drive but I know Volusia County is still a combination department

Forum Member

Seminole and Orange are totally out of the question. There is Apopka, but you'll have to wait years before you get on.
    Volusia: There is the county, however they are not accepting applications, I believe they are trying to phase them out. There is Edgewater, but you have to live in city limits. I think Deltona does it. Orange city does volunteers too.