Forum Member

Default Can you Donate gear to Afghan Army Fire Dept

Hello, My name is James Maloney, I am a Major in the Army Reserve and a Firefighter in Watertown MA.

I am currently deployed to Camp Morehead Afghanistan, Morehead is an Afghan Base that a small group of US Military stay on to assist and advise our ANA counterparts. I work as the Engineer. But being a civilian Firefighter I have been working with the ANA FD. They have two nice trucks, and SCBAs, but have no turnout gear, boots, gloves, helmets hoods etc,...

Obviously it really limits how effective they can be at training and fighting fires.

I am just curious if there are any departments out there that have old used stuff they are not using that they would want to send to Afghanistan. Trust me it is better than what they dont have now.

There are 10 firefighters here, they are all about 5'5" to 5'8" from 140-180lbs.

The ANA FFs on my base are some neat guys, most have been in the ANA army since the US helped establish it. Becoming a FF is an honor for them, after proving themself to thier bosses in Combat.

It has been a great experince working with these guys, Im sure i have grown as a firefighter, having to learn stuff well on their trucks, so i can then teach them thru an interpreter.

If you can help out in any way please email me at james.f.maloney@us.army.mil

Thanks

James

MembersZone Subscriber

Or, instead of sending your used gear to a foreign land, to be used by foreigners, who we are already providing support to in many ways, such as this Major (who is part of the finest military in the world) and the training he is providing, you could send it to needy departments right here in the US.

Just saying...

MembersZone Subscriber

I could not agree with your more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Forum Member

i would hope even the poorest volunteer departments would have basic things like gloves, coats and boots.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Maloney67 View Post