Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How to dress?

Forum Member

Default How to dress?

Hello guys,

Im new to the forum and also new to the hiring process. I just have a question about what to wear to a FIREteam test? Is it like the Panel/Oral interview with a suit and tie? Or would a dress shirt w/ tie and slacks be appropriate? As of now, I do not own a suit, but could get one shortly if need be. I have my first ever test March,21. The test is all that will be done this day, and if passed I will be informed later of the date for the Panel Interview. Any info will help.

Also, here is a little information about myself. I am 24 years old and live in Kansas. I went to a two year Fire Science program and now have been serving on my local rural volunteer dept. for 3 years. I currently work as a 911 Dispatcher (Sheriff, Police, Fire, EMS) for my county and before that I was a Detention Deputy for the sheriffs dept. Needless to say, I have completely immersed myself into Public Safety professions and I cannot see myself doing anything else. Any advise and or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Forum Member

I am from Ok. and here if you even have that a shirt and tie will work but you know a suit would give a better impression.

Best of luck!

Show the panel that you respect them, and the opportunity that they gave you (by allowing you to advance to the interview portion) and the potential job by wearing a SUIT. Don't have one? Go get one. NOW.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

MembersZone Subscriber

I would say it depends on who is giving the test. In my experience (not much), it's either the Department directly, or a third-party. Even then it depends on the size of the department. I've done both, and I say as long as you look professional (business casual) you won't offend anyone, nor stand out.

Definitely dress as sharp as you can for the interview, however.
    Last edited by GaiusPaul; 03-06-2011 at 02:50 PM.