Thread: Greetings

Forum Member

Default Greetings

Hello Fire Fighters,

Probie here - great website!

I have a couple questions for anyone who wants to take the much apprecaited time to respond.

A little background - I was recently hired on with my local Volunteer FD in Central MN. I've been an EMT in the Air Force for 10 years, 5 years Active Duty and worked full Medical/Trauma response out of the ER, and have now been in the Air National Guard as an EMT for 5 years. 10 years to go until I can retire with the Guard.

Since being hired by my department I started FF 1 and will take FF 2 immediately after....sitting in this class has made me realize how dumb I was for not pursuing this path the day I came out of Active Duty instead of waiting so long!

1st question - I fully understand how competitive it is to be hired on full time, but I have no doubt in my mind that Fire and Rescue is what I want to do for a profession. I've been in a job for the past 5 years that is just that "a job" - I need something to dive into and Fire and Rescue is it. It may take a while to make the cut so in the mean time, what can I do other than having FF 1 and 2 and my EMT to set myself apart? I'm sure that gets asked here often. The local full time department does not do medical transport so I was told by a few full time members that having my Paramedic would not necessarily help. So things can I do - take as many fire related classes as possible, study for the cival service exam - what else?