Forum Member

Default Which departments use a quiet response policy to certain types of calls?

I'm a firefighter doing a research project for a college course; Can anyone answer with any departments they know who respond without lights and sirens and obeying all traffic laws to certain types of calls.

So far I know that St Louis FD and Detroit FD does. And the FDNY is testing it out. Thanks.

Forum Member

I think you'll find that many departments do this in one form or another for non-lifethreatening calls.

I have some survey data that might be helpful to you. I'll see if I can extract it from my study database in a convenient form.

Our department essentially has three response levels:

(1) all assigned units in emergency response mode (lights & sirens, traffic signal pre-emption, etc.)
    (2) all assigned units in routine response mode (flow of traffic, obey all traffic signs/signals)
    (3) first due units in emergency response mode, all other assigned units in routine response mode

We also make it a practice to promptly reduce later due equipment to a routine response mode as appropriate based on conditions found by earlier arriving unists.
    "Nemo Plus Voluptatis Quam Nos Habant"

The Code is more what you'd call "guidelines" than actual rules.

Forum Member

Thanks, that is very appreciated. Which department are you with?

Forum Member

Our standard response is first & second truck leave the station with lights, sirens, etc. for all calls.

Subsequent trucks leave the hall with only lights flashing unless there is a dire need to get them on-scene as soon as possible. They also obey all traffic laws and act as just another vehicle on the road.

We haven't implemented a policy yet where initial response doesn't have lights and siren running. Given the liability issues discussed in other threads here, I can't see us implementing that policy without a good reason.

Forum Member

We have a policy for non emergent response both at work and the vollie house.